Getting the Format Right …

Last night I filled in an online application to a very well known company for a customer service related position – would it be expecting too much for such a well known brand to have got the format of their form right?  Apparently so!  In six fields they wanted dates to be filled in – there was no guidance as to the format of the date field … I got it wrong.  It didn’t tell me it was wrong.  I pressed “submit” and it bounced back to the top of the form – no message or anything to advise it had failed to submit.  Eventually when I scrolled down I found error messages besides the fields  -I guessed at how to change them and some were accepted – on the third attempt I got them all right and the form was submitted.  The whole experience made me wonder whether this was a company I truly want to work for! (and it is a company I am a loyal customer of too!)

You will recall on Monday I did not quite get the right format when I found myself on hands and knees in the cow created mire?  This morning (with my clean and dry beige sandals on my feet) I decided whilst on the bus I was heading back there (almost) while the weather was forecast to hold out.

Weather Guru was curious about what I did yesterday; I showed him the picture of my fir tree.  I was asked “and you made that?” “yes” “so is that a rock in the background?” “well actually it is kelp” “is that really what you want on top of your Christmas Tree?” … I tried to described the piece of sea glass to him – it is obviously a glass stopper …

Anyway having sent him on his way with a have a good day wish I caught the X7 for Montrose.  Enroute I checked the tides and did a bit of map surfing.  I forgot to buy milk yesterday so had not even had a coffee before leaving home – Greggs saved the day – a bacon roll ( white bread 😦 ) and a latte to take away came to £2 and it was okay.  From the 47 I walked all of  twenty metres to the Ladies at Ferryden Pier.  These are toilets my Mother would not use and if she had to it would be a hover technique only.  I had to use it and it was not fun.  The floor was wet (I needed to put my backpack down) and the toilet is set on a slope!

Next the walk out to the lighthouse as on Monday … the tide was still on its way in unlike on Monday when it was on its way out!  There was still evidence of the flotsam and jetsam including the straw bales on the foreshore.  The main difference was that by the time I got to Scurdieness the waves were splashing and breaking on the rocks.

Then the decision – to go through the Kissing Gate or not? The answer was of course – just to take more pictures of the waves! … and well maybe just a little way further since there is no sign of the livestock … which will be out of sight between the two buildings on the horizon!

I spent some time gathering geological samples on the beaches composed of the local Scurdie stone –  the quartzite seams, Quartzite inclusions within the volcanic rocks and shales are all readily found on the beaches to the South of the lighthouse.

Some of these reappear to the north of the lighthouse but the beaches there are composed of the more typical british beach cobbles or paddlestones

Suspecting that stone at the top was  a nodule of flint – I did my very best impersonation of my fictional heroine (Ayla form the Earth Children series by Jean M Auel) and found myself a hammer stone and struck it.  I got sharp edged flakes from it and could see the flint interior with what may have been a fossilised something in the face of the broken flint?

I also could not resist showing you this miniscule sponge …

The strangest thing I found on the beach was … a dead chicken! (no photo) but I am extremely appreciative of this cooperative juvenile cormorant … and behind it you can just see one of the several metal rings set into the rocks that would have permitted boats to be moored in these little natural harbours?

This time I did walk back to Ferryden rather than on into mire after mire and as I was taking more photographs of the harbour I saw the Pilot  heading out to sea – without commentary this sequnce shows the Pilot meeting a ship and guiding her safely between Annat Bank and Scurdie Ness …

Ocean Seeker (home port Lowestoft) arrived into Montrose from Lerwick.  She is a survey ship.  I delayed my return to the bus to watch this and I am so glad I did.

I had a smooth return journey to Dundee on the X7 after a takeaway cappuccino (I have never seen one made that way and I hope never to see one made that way again!  Premeasured ‘professional espresso’, topped halfway up with frothy milk (push the froth out of the jug with a knife) THEN sprinkle with cocoa before adding the rest of the frothy milk  -who made that format up?) …

… and just for a change I caught the 22 home.  It proved a fortunate choice.  The driver told me apparently I used to chat with his Ex Wife – she had described me to a tee!  He showed me a photograph of a woman I did used to chat with waiting for the bus going back around 2 years ago and he was able to update me that she has moved which I why I haven’t seen her on the bus.

However the really fortunate part was that I was able to set a record straight!  The first time I met this driver I was appalled – his driving scared me and he was so rude I actually e-mailed the boss and asked them to return him whence he came via some training in driving and customer service.

When we arrived back in Kirriemuir I took the opportunity to tell him my initial impression but that he has subsequently righted both of those things.  He said that first encounter was his first day and he had had no briefing or training (so yes he was aware of the impression he made).  I do sympathise that he was not properly prepared by the company but driving is a skill that should be a given for a bus driver (shouldn’t it?) and there is no excuse for rudeness no matter what the circumstances!  Anyway I am glad that peace is made an we understand one another now.  The format is now correct but we had to make several tries at submitting before it got there!  It might have been nice if he had taken the initiative since he was clearly aware … but then maybe he would see that as weakness?

The weather is forecast to get cold and colder for the next day or so and then rain at the weekend … what can I do to stave off the inclement weather?  I think Weather Guru has sufficient choice of potential boats now; I have sufficient geological samples and sea glass to amuse me … so where will tomorrow find me?

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

