Aboard the Ark: Day 5

The weather wrecked it’s revenge today – the rain came down and my Ark is now well afloat – no going back until landfall after the floods subside!  We cannot say we weren’t warned because the forecast got it absolutely right.

So my day today needed to involve a lot of indoor time but I did not want to just stay at home and listen to torrential rain!  So I only did a short dog walk and having rubbed Dog down with a towel, breakfasted him, had coffee and got washed and dressed I was on the usual bus.  The torrential rain actually helped since it kept the outside of the side windows well cleaned and so when I dried off the inside the driver had a better view than many days.

I decided to head to Perth and visit the A K Bell Library for some research, so I took the scenic route (the 57) and saw some pretty spectacular flooding – fields turned into water meadows and paddocks with instant ponds.  I was glad not to have spent money on the East of Scotland Megarider this week since my usual buses across in Fife were badly hampered with the flooding (I knew this because Stagecoach were very organised with issuing a service update early this morning – well done).

@“Its You Again” I hope you, family and colleagues were all safe and not at risk from the floods.

I didn’t get the camera out today in the rain but I did snap a picture through the bus window of the burn at Alyth and I have added one to compare it to on a calm normal day  the burn was definitely in full spate today!

 

By the time we reached Perth the rain had pretty much stopped so I popped into Costa for toast and coffee … I was disappointed – that store does not do toast and it is not very relaxing so I didn’t linger over my cappuccino.  I found my way to the Library and was really impressed with the modern interior nicely fitted into the heritage building.  I spent a while browsing journals and noting references for the articles I may wish to follow up in more detail.

As I set off down to the café at lunchtime I was greeted by a man sat in the foyer saying he walks slowly too (my ligaments/tendons are still sore).  I stopped for a chat and he told me about his epilepsy which he has had all his life and that he controls it with medication but he likes to walk and raise money for different charities … this week’s beneficiary being an MS charity.  It was only a short exchange but it was so typical of those conversations that happen in my life all the time.  I had never met this man before so it wasn’t returning a kindness from an earlier encounter – yesterday a woman greeted me as she got off the bus; two days previously I had answered a question which the driver didn’t know the answer to.  I was touched that she remembered me  – it made my day.

I headed on into the café and was delighted to see they offered toasties in oatmeal bread.   So I had a tuna melt and a pumpkin soup – both delicious and whilst I did feel at £5 a little pricey it fitted my healthy options and I hadn’t spent money on breakfast.  I had a little mooch to stretch my sore ligaments before catching a 16 back to Dundee and heading for the library there for more research.  I have to say although the library is bigger and offers more material I found it difficult to settle because a person at one of the study desks had music on her laptop with leaky headphones and then had her mobile (in the bottom of her bag) ringing and she could not get to it to silence it.  I gave up and headed for a coffee.

I went to Caffe Nero – the queue was static and the staff too busy giggling together so I voted with my feet.  At Costa I was heading for my favourite sofa but the staff had already cordoned that area off for the day (90 minutes before they close).  I went to another sofa and got settled with a book that is a translation of the memoir of a Russian orphan (I am enjoying it more than I anticipated).  The couple at the adjacent sofa were talking  quietly and that was fine.  They were replaced by a raucous pair of friends who completely destroyed the ambience – thanks guys NOT!  This has given me two ponder moments today:  (1) Why do people think it is okay to be noisy and intrusive to others in public places? (2) Why does a coffee shop think it is okay to shut off areas for end of day cleaning so early?  Costa I understand your staff have a timetable for their duties but it really does tell your customers they are overstaying their welcome!

Finally on the bus home and a chance to exchange weather stories with the elusive weather guru.  Weather guru is looking forward to two days R&R over the weekend – and so am I … I can go play on the beach for two days and the wind is picking up so along with the lack of rain it could be a kite flying weekend!  The only cloud on my horizon? toxic friend is having a small domestic crisis! (might have to turn the phone off when I am on the beach …)

I haven’t forgotten I had promised a follow up on what happens when things go wrong in business and customers are not happy – it is writing itself in my head and will be available shortly at a travel blog near you!  In the meantime – do like weather guru and me – have a fun weekend and relax.

Tags: , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

