So how did I do?

I started my week with a post called Wear Out and Be New … well did I succeed?

A ‘No’ uttered from the deepest conviction is better than a ‘Yes’ merely uttered to please, or worse, to avoid trouble. (Mahatma Gandhi)

The response to my “No” was luke warm – and I still have that to resolve – but I am not down hearted.

You must be the change you wish to see in the world.

Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony.

Strength does not come from physical capacity. It comes from an indomitable will.

Well I have reached the end of the week content, despite the financial uncertainty.  I am content that my thoughts, what I say and what I do are singing from the same stave.  I feel that I am making the changes I want in myself and that is reflected outwards; I feel at peace with myself and other’s seem to be at peace with me too.

Yesterday I deliberately greeted all but three people within earshot as I walked along the beach – firstly I allowed a genuine smile to alert them to my greeting and then I wished them “good morning” or “hi” or “what a lovely day”.  Some exchanges were lengthier than others but everyone of those people smiled back and responded.  Who were the three I didn’t greet? a runner who had his head down in concentration, a photographer with his back to me and his model who was balanced rather precariously on a large rock.

Try it – I challenge each of you – smile at and then greet a stranger; it will make their day and it will boost your self esteem too.  It rarely fails; I do it all the time when I am out and about – we have lost the basic manners to acknowledge the world around us.  I also think this answers one of my ponders – why do people tell me things? I am open to them because I choose to have good manners and greet them, instead of pretending they are not there.

This next week I am going to concentrate on my physical health.

Well I didn’t do so well with my Daoyin Poem but I did increase my walking – I have got faster without being out of breath, my foot pain is under better control, and I walked further – 20% further than my previous holiday weeks and almost 3 times further than the week I was back in work.  I have felt less anxious about heights and vertigo and I climbed a hill despite being anxious about the drop beside me.

None of us know what is over that horizon when we stand in the here and now … so I am going  to take the following from the Tao Te Ching as my motivation:

Yield and overcome;
Bend and be straight;
Empty the self and be full;
Wear out and be new.

Therefore the ancients say,
‘Yield and overcome.’
Be whole,
And all things will come to you.

How will I put this into practice?

Apart from the Tai Chi I have achieved each of the four things I set out to do.  No one else will see much difference in my physical health but I am aware of it.  Less breathless, looser fit to my clothes and a healthy glow courtesy of wind tanned skin.  This combined with my contentment and desire to have the life I want is making me a strong person again.

People who know me well often comment on the energy I have and ask me where it comes from – simply it comes from finding this balance deep in myself; almost everyone can do it but they need to try less hard to find it – so my friends (virtual and in real life): “empty yourself and be full”  please; and continue this journey as kindred spirits if you dare.  I will always treasure the company along the way and hope that I can offer something to each of you in return.

Tags: , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

