Opening the Door: Day 7 Decisions … decisions …

So here we are almost at the end of another week … and I am not ready for the week to end … see what this serenity seeking is doing to me – it is making me want to be able to slow down time!

The plan today was to go to Montrose and take advantage of the low tide late morning to have a great big beach with a promised steady wind and fly the parafoil.  Best made plans …  I did go to Montrose, I did find a way onto the beach (even without that signposting Montrose!!) but there was barely a whisper of wind.  So there was nothing for it – I took my sandals off again and paddled as I walked half the length of the beach.

I have pain in my left foot from plantar fasciitis … with wearing Fitflops over the pats few years I have had next to no pain until the last 6 weeks.  I know all the  right things to do to ease it and I have found out these past few weeks walking on semi dry sand makes it worse (the stuff is harder than concrete) and walking in the edge of the waves where the sand is saturated and gives a little seems to really help.

I was watching the time since I only had an hour and 50 minutes before the bus back so when I had walked up to the halfway time I had to turn back.  I have noticed the last few days I am walking a little quicker with the practise I have had this week – not quite power walking yet though.  As I walked up the beach to the ramp I had spotted three big old fashioned bassets were taking their person for  a walk.  The black and tan one woofed at me.  When I caught up to them as they were getting into their car she started woofing again and her person told me she was called Harriet but he usually refers to her as Ronnie Barker – and she certainly was a barker.  They were lovely old (15 years old) girls; rescue bassets which his wife had rescued and loved and with his wife’s death two years ago they had become his girls to look after.  He agreed with me though that they do their share of the looking after by bringing him out for frequent exercise.

After I wished him and the girls thanks and goodbye I continued back to the high street and got there in time to catch a different bus (the 30A) slightly sooner.  En route I spotted a doocot (just after the turning for Usan) so they do survive in Angus even if not as prolific as in Fife.  This gave me  a stopover in Arbroath to eat a late lunch; I took a toddle round Lidl – nothing in their specials I wanted and thence to the Harbour for the Ladies and a Latte.  I found a bench in the sunshine and enjoyed some of the cheese I bought yesterday and a couple of apples along with the coffee.

Back to the bus station for  a 73 to Dundee and after a short wait my homeward 20.  This morning I noticed that we had a borrowed bus on the route and while I waited an Inspector arrived in “99” – the temperamental madam who was slipping her gears the other week and then stamped her wheels and refused to continue.  Since then she has been fixed, off the road again and last night she got a new hose – lucky 99.  Not sure she is completely well – seems a little sluggish still in her gear changes.; but she got me home.

Like time the waves will still be rolling up on the beach, even though I am not there to photograph them.  Canute apparently failed to stop them so I don’t suppose I can slow time down either; but I did leave my mark on the beach out of reach of the waves.

And as I came away there were others following the path I had taken strolling on the beach alone, or with friends or with family or with their dogs … but I didn’t see anyone else with bare feet and paddling like a bairn.

As I walked through Arbroath I did see this rather sad sight.

I am not a fan of seagulls when they invade our towns and become aggressive towards people … but it is not the gulls’ fault it is the fault of people who have encouraged them by feeding them.  Nevertheless seeing this dead gull discarded on top of  a litter bin was saddening.

I suspect it had been hit by a car and placed there rather than been squished into something unrecognisable.

I have thought that I have seen a pair of sea eagles on each of the last three days – it is hard to be sure because they were some way away and there was nothing to compare them to scalewise.  However, I am sure they were not buzzards – they looked too big and the flight wasn’t quite typical of a buzzard; plus at this time of year I don’t often see buzzards flying together.  Despite staying around here for some 7 years I have never seen Golden Eagles and I live just south of the Glens where there are regular eagle sightings.

The first day I saw these large raptors they were close to Tentsmuir and two of the released sea eagles have been seen in that area quite often.  Yesterday I saw what looked like two very similar birds flying over the southern edge of Forfar late afternoon and early this morning similar birds flying away from Forfar to the Southeast.

These birds have tremendous freedom up there in the big skies of Scotland and at this time of year I think food will be plentiful as the wildfowl start to gather to overwinter here.  Last week at Montrose Basin there were only a few geese; today there was a large flock swirling around.

I did have  minor ponder today – I spotted some temporary road signs warning of “flood” when there was none.  It made me wonder about the effectiveness of those signs next time there is a flood there? I think this links in to some of the themes I have had this week – coming to places from a different direction (refreshing our ideas from repetition)

The final photo for today is a very pretty cloud formation highlighted by the setting sun as it headed towards a ‘red sky at night’

Today is supposed to be the last day of my ‘holiday’ for now but I find myself not ready for that yet so today has turned out to be decision making Sunday.

Starting my big journey?

I know that I want to start my own Social Enterprise business and I know the rough business plan for that.  I also know it isn’t going to happen overnight and since I am not rich it will require lots of hard work and commitment if I am to get it started successfully.

However, Dog knows that he wants his breakfast and his tea every day (as well as walks and cuddles) – this means I need an interim plan to earn income.

I fear that if I simply sit at home working hard to get another short term job and to start a business that several negative things will result:

  • My social contact will be limited to Dog (I do love him  but I want to talk with people too);
  • My serenity will gradually be usurped by depression and loss of self belief (I am not prepared to lose that after working so hard for an employer that I almost wiped it out completely and only managed to restore it over these last few weeks of travelling);
  • I will not continue to work on my physical health – walks will be limited to dog walks; I will get into bad sleep habits by staying up late and not getting up in the mornings; because food is handy I will eat more than I need; and
  • I will lose the routine that underpins all of the above.

Dog and I also have a decision to make in the next few days – a litter of pups has just arrived in the world today and I would like one of them to come here to live; he already has a name (Dicey – it was an accidental mating between a labrador and a GSP; so the puppies looks will be as guaranteed as the roll of  a dice).  I know the parents and know they have wonderful temperaments.  Dog is almost 9 and I think if we don’t have a pup now I will have to wait until Dog’s departure before I start over; where as now he is still young enough and fit enough to deal with puppy bumptiousness.

The pups will be ready at the start of December and so throughout December, January, February, March I will need to be here to feed and house train Dicey several times a day.  Realistically that means working from home and perhaps having  a pup sitter one day a week if I need to go to a base office.  Dicey would have to be a boy (litter is 3 dogs and 1 bitch) and there is one of the litter which is black with a white nose (the others are liver with some white paws) – perfect for his name!

So can I achieve everything I want in my life?  right now I don’t know but I am prepared to give it a good shot; but I also want to keep the benefits of my journey so far.  For next week I will go out every day but I will not venture as far and I will come home earlier and spend time working hard to progress the other areas so that Dicey can come and join our household too.

Today’s statistics: Cost: £0; Miles travelled: 111.1; Steps taken: 13,173; Photographs taken: 20
This week’s statistics: Cost: £37.50; Miles travelled: 990 (an average of 3.78 pence per mile); Steps taken: 86,249 (a total of  32.67 miles); Pictures taken: 461 and I have travelled on 47 buses.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

