Wear out and be new …

It has been a week of weather … the minute I returned to work the sky turned grey and dark and then we had gales and rain.  On Friday morning there was the strangest shape rainbow on my way to work – it was tall and narrow more a ‘rainarch’ than a rainbow, we had some rain and then it just stayed dull until around 5pm when the blue sky appeared and the sun came out just before I emerged from the office for the last time.  Saturday and Sunday have been mostly dry and sunnyish with string breezes but still (to me at least) mild.

It has been a week of friendship and caring too.  I have been spoiled by my adoptive team and I am sad to leave them behind, along with many other valued colleagues who I will miss.

So I hear you asking did I neutralise the stress?  Yes – just by 0.2 miles!

I have reached the end of the week feeling calm and still serene.  Each day I have found that someone has belief in my plans and so my faith in myself is strengthened.   I put the following into practise so I know it to be true:

A ‘No’ uttered from the deepest conviction is better than a ‘Yes’ merely uttered to please, or worse, to avoid trouble. (Mahatma Gandhi)

In total my Megarider travelled around 500 miles last week at a cost of 5.4 pence per mile.  The aspect that really suffered though, apart from the fact I wasn’t out in the fresh air taking pictures, was the walking – I only managed 30,000 steps – well less than half of the previous weeks.  I do not enjoy spending lots of time in open plan office spaces; the temperature is difficult to get a compromise on, the air is dry, everyone is sniffly or coughing AND I am just not active when I work like this.

This week has clarified some things for me – these are not new ideas, Mahatma Gandhi described them as follows:

You must be the change you wish to see in the world.

Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony.

Strength does not come from physical capacity. It comes from an indomitable will.

This next week I am going to concentrate on my physical health.

Not only the open plan office effect above but after a family crisis in the middle of the year I stopped my healthier eating.  Since December 2011 to mid June this year I had cut out all sugars and all refined carbs.  I had noticed less joint pain, fewer migraines, less tiredness and more energy.  I also gave up my Tai Chi classes a few years ago because they were in Dundee on an evening and I was too tired to really concentrate at that time after a long day at work and before a long commute home.

Was this the start of a journey or the end? tyre tracks in the sand …

None of us know what is over that horizon when we stand in the here and now … so I am going  to take the following from the Tao Te Ching as my motivation:

Yield and overcome;
Bend and be straight;
Empty the self and be full;
Wear out and be new.

Therefore the ancients say,
‘Yield and overcome.’
Be whole,
And all things will come to you.

How will I put this into practice?

  1. I will start eating healthily again – sugar and refined carbs are gone as of now.  If I cannot get a healthy option when I am out and about there will be nuts, seeds, fruit and cheese in my bag and I will drink plenty of water.
  2. Every day whilst I am out I will practice the “Daoyin Poem”.  Wherever I go I will find some free space in the open air, kick off my shoes if possible and practice this graceful form of Tai Chi.  I have a video of it on my mobile phone so I will have to watch it through a few times first … or rather I did and now not so I will have to remember it!
  3. I will get my walking back up to 10,000 steps per day
  4. I will continue with the serenity seeking and faith strengthening.

My physical health alone will not make me strong, but a person needs both good physical health and good mental health to achieve their dreams.

I hope you will wish to come along too and be amongst the first to see my dreams starting to crystallise and unfold?

Tags: , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. So how did I do? « Travels with a Megarider … - October 7, 2012

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

