Stress Miles Neutralisation 1 …

Today I took a different route to familiar destination – Dunkeld.  This time I was focusing on shopping (for food) but I did grab a few pictures and a bite of lunch too.

No weather guru being a Saturday, but the day has stayed fine and dry with a fair bit of sunshine but it is really noticeable this weekend that the trees are turning – so hopefully over the next few weeks I will be able to capture some stunning autumn colour.  The geese are migrating now and the Rowans are thick with vivid red berries.

I set off in a hurry this morning and didn’t pick up a second layer or my back pack – mental note to self get that thing packed up tonight!  I couldn’t find a light layer in Dundee – most of the shops were still closed.  I caught the 57 to Perth via Alyth and Blairgowrie … I know it is a long way round but since Stagecoach no longer deliver the bus service between Kirriemuir and Alyth I would have had to pay for that shortcut.  The bus was fine but the ticket machine was in a strop resulting in a few funny conversations – but not as funny as the woman explaining to our driver that her bus had gone away to get cleaned after a passenger was sick and would be back – just in case our driver wondered why they were waiting!  (that by the way is the edited version – the tale went on for several repetitions over several minutes and I could see our driver seeking ways to politely end the monologue).

On arrival in Perth I mooched (I had cramp during the night in my leg and my feet are sore so regular short walks were called for to try and ease sore muscles) – spent time in the weirdest little Debenhams I have ever encountered and ended up back at Mountain Warehouse to buy a layer.  Managed to get a microfleece gilet in black/grey which will work with my microfleece sweaters in red or blue.  I try every Autumn to buy a couple of new outdoor micro layers to build on what I already have.  I mooched my way to the bus stop (complete with a small latte).  I knew the route this time on the 23 to Dunkeld so it was nice to just view the scenery without wondering where we were.

My first stop in Dunkeld was at the deli … just looking at the cheese counter is exciting.  Trying to control the drooling I selected some smoked chicken and some bacon before I savoured the cheese selection.  Anster, Hebridean Blue and a Cave aged Guyere were all added to the basket along with some handmade oatcakes.   Yummy yummy!  Next stop was the butchers – Pork and Black Pudding Sausages and some lamb cutlets – more yummy and finally the Dunkeld Smokehouse.  Hot smoked salmon and some wild smoked salmon (pricey) which will I am certain be yummy too.

Shopping over I wandered down to the riverside to take photographs.

Cute young ducks on the Tay at Dunkeld

After taking these I mooched back up towards the bus terminus collecting a tuna mayo on brown, a small quiche and a bottle of sparkling water (need to keep the fluids up having been dehydrated after my migraine) on the way.  The little car park and bus terminus is a really well set out area and includes the public conveniences and access points to local walks and Stanley Hill.  I found a tree stump to sit on while I lunched – Perth & Kinross Council or the National Trust or whomever organises this venue – how about some benches/picnic tables beside he parking area? there is plenty of space under the tree canopy and the sun still gets through to dapple the area with warmth.

On returning to Perth it was a short walk to South Street to catch the 16A back to Dundee with time for a coffee, a small purchase of a lightweight purple quilted gilet that I have had my eye on and some essentials from Tesco – mainly doggy dinner.  Then home.

Spotted toxic friend as I travelled so texted a wave.  His response was that he had been ‘waving all day’ (since he knew I would be out this seems bizarre) and I had spoiled the surprise.  I am totally baffled by his logic? Now he has texted to say he is phoning someone else and still doesn’t know what is happening on Tuesday … okay … I am still baffled – how was phoning someone else going to surprise me? OR how was me knowing he was working overtime going to spoil the surprise for someone else? OR since he doesn’t know what is happening on Tuesday and despite what some folk think I don’t see the future so neither do I … how did I spoil the surprise? I suspect I am over analysing this aren’t I?

So today I:

  • Partially retraced some steps;
  • Got very close to the moving water while taking pictures;
  • Decided not to scramble up Stanley Hill until I have my walking boots on;
  • Studied the walks map at Dunkeld for future trips; and
  • Treated myself to some nice food for this week.
Today’s statistics: Cost: £0; Miles travelled: -157; Steps taken: 10,560: Photographs taken: 53

Note the negative infront of the miles denoting that these are serenity miles rather than stress miles as during the week!

I’ll finish today with two more photographs: I have a reputation for being  a bus spotter (and I have shared with you my new spotter tendency for rural bus stops).  Weather guru and I both spot red squirrels, deer and other wildlife – but weather guru’s real spotter tendency is for firewood (yes you read that correctly) so just for weather guru – I spotted some firewood!

and on my journey home I snapped this sunset from the road down into Forfar looking back to the Perthshire hills … very serene!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

