Just 3 more sleeps … or is it?

Honey I’m home! Just another day in the office dear? Well no actually …

The Good

Spending time with ‘my’ team – a brilliant bunch of people (by their own statement today Muppets).  They are actually not my team at all – I do not manage them and I do not officially belong … but they adopted me and have been wonderful adoptive parents ever since.  My first few weeks in this job I hot desked between two offices and felt like I didn’t belong at all; one of the team had a broken ankle which left a desk spare for several months and so I was adopted.  I got moved out for a while and then I got shunted back – but these people have been constant.  Today they really spoiled me – lunch and gifts and the muppet card … apparently I have to decide which muppet they each are before the end of the week – so no pressure then?

My “little girl” is 25 today.  I actually don’t mind thinking back to her birth – it wasn’t scary or horrid and I know it hurt like hell at the time but I don’t remember that when I remember that little bundle swaddled in her hospital crib.  Happy Birthday CB.

The Bad

Well it is only bad because it is about ‘goodbyes’.  This afternoon I had two meetings – the first a handover of one responsibility (and the technology let me down!) and the second a more poignant meeting with clients to let them know what was happening – I have worked with them on and off for over 18 months and I wanted to end it right.  It was emotional … what I do involves having emotions but generally keeping them aside.  It became au revoir.

My “little girl”  has had a tough year – her father had a serious stroke and was hospitalised and with right side neglect it was as if he had given up.  This wasn’t his first stroke  and it wasn’t his last but at this point neighbours who were supposedly his friends, acting on his best interests, did their utmost to alienate him from his daughter.  He finally died towards the end of last year.  One of the neighbours was an executor and has made my daughter’s life hell with lots of different issues.  Now the estate is settled the neighbour has asked for an executor fee and my daughter (one of two beneficiaries) has been asked to agree to this.  Her answer is, quite rightly, “no”.

What they do not know and she barely remembers is that from the age of 11 to 18 I had no financial support from her father – this sometimes meant she ate and I didn’t or sometimes meant beans on toast was a staple for the week.  He wasn’t a bad person – but he had issues about money and had I taken him to court for financial support she would not have benefited from a relationship with him – as it was she spent weekends and school holidays with him and gained from that.

None of us earn the money left to us by family – we have no right to it.  What she is about to inherit will leave her a nest egg to buy a house … nothing grand but something safe and hers … and I am pleased for her that she has that security

The Ugly

I dashed back after that meeting to organise the kit I need with me tomorrow.  I cursed because it wasn’t as accessible as I needed.  I had it all packed and was on my way out of the building when the Boss called me back.  I needed away to get my bus … but I turned back.  Suddenly two months after giving me notice that my fixed term post (extended twice already) was to end she wanted to advise me that she has spoken with her boss and HR and they can offer me a month on month extension.

I mumbled an implied okay … but by the time I got to the bus stop I was fairly sure I meant “No thanks”

I texted a friend who rang and initially said didn’t I think it was better to have the safe income? but who after we had discussed it could see why I wanted to say no.  If I say yes – my big journey will be delayed – I cannot do both!

I spoke with my Mother (their move has gone but not that well!) and she didn’t even try to persuade me to stay.  I will sleep on it but I am fairly sure my answer will be “3 sleeps suits me fine!”

Weather

Did you get his too? unbelievable gales and rain overnight and this morning.  The dog and I got physically stopped in our tracks by the wind on the way home from our constitutional this morning.  I was surprised that the deckers were getting sent out but very appreciative that they were.  Ours this morning had no squeaking issues and behaved really quite well apart from one short stretch of road exposed to the NE gale.  We did see a few small trees down and we saw a very small tree on the radiator grille of a van going the other way.

There were leaves an fir cones all over the road – poor squirrels will have less food to hide.  We did see a red squirrel who calmly  strolled across the road in front of the bus and then sat on the grass and watched us pass … very cute!

So Today I:

  • Was sad;
  • Was spoiled;
  • Was blown about; and
  • Was left gobsmacked!
Today’s statistics: Cost: £0; Miles travelled: 51.6; Steps taken: 2,000; Photos taken: none

Off to sleep on my decision but I am fairly sure what it is!

Tags: , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

