Week 2 Summary

So have I achieved serenity and strengthened my faith in the world at large?  Well yes I rather think I have.

Let me start with weather … it became an early recurring theme of course but I had an astonishing conversation at the supermarket this week which left me feeling a little like Pooh bear after an encounter with Eeyore.  The cashier made comment on the weather being so bad with heavy rain all day, every day (odd weather guru never said …)   I said I was on holiday and had enjoyed wonderful weather for the past week or so on my day’s out.  In response she looked at me as if I was mad and mumbled something.  This is Eeyore’s famous take on the weather:

“It’s snowing still,” said Eeyore gloomily.

“So it is.” said Pooh.

Eeyore retorted “and freezing”.

Surprised, Pooh responded, “Is it”?

“Yes,” said Eeyore. “However,” he said, brightening up a little, “we haven’t had an earthquake lately.”

Yes I saw rain – on Monday the return from St Andrews was through torrential rain; there were spots of rain on a couple of occasions but certainly nothing that bad.  I have also had bright blue skies, sunshine and lots of rainbows to see.

Every day has been different – even when I have visited some places several times – which has helped me enjoy the here and now rather than hankering for the maybe … and I rather agree with Pooh!

“What day is it?”
It’s today,” squeaked Piglet.
My favorite day,” said Pooh.”
― A.A. Milne

Then there were the beaches … I cannot remember the last time I spent so much time on a beach.  I  love beaches but have not made time to go and spend time on them recently – that will be changing from the 29 September without question and I loved this quote which makes the analogy between the beach and life

“She worked her toes into the sand, feeling the tiny delicious pain of the friction of tiny chips of silicon against the tender flesh between her toes. That’s life. It hurts, it’s dirty, and it feels very, very good.”
― Orson Scott CardChildren of the Mind

But my inspirational quote to end this week is this:

“Life is a journey, not a destination.”
― Ralph Waldo Emerson

I have adopted this in my travels with a megarider – it has been about the journeying as much as where I went; it has been the people, the sounds, the smells, the experiences, the smiles, the grumbles – it has been an eye opener and I have enjoyed every minute of the two weeks.  The memories of this will help me be resilient in the coming week – to take each day as it comes and just do my best without feeling guilty if my best is found wanting.

Serenity Miles: Week 2

This week I spent £37.50 and have travelled 835.89 miles using my East of Scotland Megarider ticket (there is no doubt I could have travelled much greater distances if I hadn’t wanted to spend time exploring places) which equates to just 4.5 pence per mile.  I walked virtually the same number of steps as last week.  The only place I paid to visit was the Botanic Garden in St Andrews.

Serenity Miles: total


Cost £69.25

Miles 1,562  [Cost per mile 4.43 pence]

Pictures taken 1,323 [Cost per photograph 5.23 pence]

Steps taken 142,560

Buses travelled on (no I haven’t logged every fleet number) 103 – and this was the last one …

Serenity

  • Fresh air every day
  • Wonderful people to meet every day
  • The dog welcoming me home every day

And in terms of my transport – well my megarider tickets are from Stagecoach who have contributed:

  • Reliable bus services
  • Buses that go to the right places
  • Value for money … I need to shout that again … VALUE FOR MONEY!
  • Competent and professionally friendly drivers (mostly)

Navigation has been mainly using my mobile phone – downloaded bus timetables and my maps but I would have loved to be able to find a map that showed me every bus services in Fife so I knew which ones I wanted to download.  I have ended up collecting paper copies so that I can plan for future forays.

Thank You

Stagecoach – when you get it right – you rock! (erm … you could do a series of leaflets “days out in (place) with your megarider” … just an idea)

My Mother – because you didn’t ring me five times a day and complain it was costing you money to call my mobile – I love you both but I sometimes need to  just be me.

The RNLI at Anstruther – I will never forget seeing you launch the lifeboat

All the pooches who have befriended me … you are all awesome and my dog for not sulking when I came home smelling of other dogs

Weather guru  … how could I not have enjoyed my day with such a cheery start each morning?

All the wildlife that sat still long enough … and if you didn’t well I forgive you anyway.

… onwards …. “Life is a journey, not a destination.”  … so now I need to unpack the back pack – pack my work bag and prepare for the next few stages enroute

Tags: , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

