Day 11: 20 September 2012

Day 11 has been a different day – I had a meeting to slot in back home – so I was out on my travels this morning and it felt wrong going home so early … anyway this is what I did.

Weather guru was back on duty this morning – our weather forecasts disagreed but that turned out to be a location based discrepancy!  either side of the Tay had different weather today … but on both sides it was dreich* in fact on my first crossing over the Road bridge there was no wind whatsoever – the Silvery Tay was more like the Grey Millpond!

Heading towards Dundee there were strange wreaths of ‘cloud’ on the hills; I could then see a plume of white smoke which told me what I was seeing was not mist and cloud but the left over smoke from a large fire – not  a house because it was white – later on I saw the reports of the large straw fire that was the source.  I hate seeing these reports that a farm has lost part of their gleaning – especially when this very wet year has wreaked a terrible effect on both tattie and cereal crops and left the harvested ground looking like a mudbath.

I had decided to spend my short day visiting St Andrews Botanic Garden – what a little gem this is.  Like many Botanic Gardens it is struggling to retain funding and it would be a huge shame for this to be lost.  It wasn’t great weather for photographs (even though I exceeded my normal daily average of 150 taken) so I will have to do a fair bit of editing but I am sure a few are postable as is.

Here are a few of the highlights:

Although the gardens boast an admirable array of bird residents and visitors I didn’t spot any today.  I did see a number of school parties and was particularly impressed with the educational tours going on in the glasshouses … and what beautifully behaved young people – you were a credit to your respective schools.

I was very surprised to find myself happily clambering around in the rock garden down rough and uneven steps set out to make a journey through the specimens – where was the woman paranoid about falling on steps who needs a rail to cling on to?

The highlight of my visit after the water gardens was this little fluffy fellow – this image taken on super macro and it was as if the bumble bee was aware of the camera and kept reaching its legs out towards me.   I was drawn to this area to take pictures because this is the September Flower of the Month.

Because of the weather I cut my visit short and headed back into St Andrews.  This gave me the opportunity to go present shopping for my daughter’s birthday which is next week (I will have to post an update on that after I know she has the gift – don’t want to spoil the surprise here).

I did spot another Fife bus stop …

And if anyone can tell me anything about this mystery iron ladder I would be really interested:

My return journey was uneventful and I got back just a few minutes late for the meeting – the Christmas Light switch on planning (yes I know it is only September but a community can only make this event worthwhile with forward planning). Then  a quick return to the next town to buy dog dinner for his lordship.

Several people have asked why he is not sharing these adventures – quite simply because it is difficult to visit public conveniences, buy picnics, etc with a dog in tow.  Although he is quite patient as a photographer’s assistant and will wait quietly I suspect that waiting while I fly kites at the beach would be asking too much – so he stays safely at home and gets an update every evening.

Tomorrow – normality resumes – no community meeting to return early for.

Today I:

  • Selected a present for someone important to me;
  • Organised my time so I could get back for a community based meeting;
  • Had more weather forecasting than a girl knows what to do with … this is a positive thing weather guru; and
  • Was able to gently let Mother know she was OTT yesterday.

I was also assertive with Toxic friend and so kept that at arm’s length.

Today’s statistics:  Cost: £0; Miles travelled: 114; Steps taken: 7,920

* Definition corner …

1. Dreich (Old Scots origin)
 
A combination of dull, overcast, drizzly, cold, misty and miserable weather. At least 4 of the above adjectives must apply before the weather is truly dreich 
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

