Day 5: 14 September 2012

So for something a bit different …

A long time ago I shared with a colleague that I had a theory about flying kites – it allows you to let go of negative emotion by pushing it up the string and allowing the breeze to cleanse you.  There are few things that have been constant in my adult life – photography is one and having a kite is another!

Gull

I saw a seagull kite a few weeks ago and was so tempted to buy it but didn’t … I do not know why the kite idea came to me when it did but I decided that today was going to be a beach day for kite flying … not just any kite but my never before flown delta stunt kite.  Given that weather guru had not shared information the previous day I had to do my own weather research using my goto netweather.tv  and I decided that the best local weather profile was for Easthaven.

I boarded the bus like a small child fresh from the toy shop clutching my precious kite.  The bus was still feeling a little ratty and offering intermittent squeaking which became the topic of the day and an opportunity to make fun of a mutual acquaintance (okay I know not grown up and not seemly – but we did it anyway).

As I approached the end of that journey weather guru did wish to know today’s mission and we briefly discussed the pros and cons of various local beaches … but I stuck with my first choice.  First though I wanted to walk along to the end of the Tay Rail Bridge and take some photos.

Given the blustery conditions it was a hard slog and by the time I got there I was weary.  I then cut across Magdalen Green and up to Perth Road to catch a 73.  I was intrigued by the footbridge over the railway – not because it challenged my height sensitivities for a change but because it included a track for cyclists to use rather than having to lift their bike up/down the stairs.

I had to change to a 73A in the City Centre so I took the opportunity of a comfort break and to buy lunch.  I went to Boots and got a meal deal.  It is a long slow route to get to Easthaven trundling through the Ferry (Broughty Ferry), Monifieth, Barry, Carnoustie (this was weather guru’s preferred location for kite flying by the way).  As soon as I was off the bus I felt like a kid on holiday – the dunes, the wind in the grass, the waves on the shore … joyful happy memories.

I still have photographs of my Grandparents on the beach (I think at Whitby) with me when I had Measles while we were on holiday with them – I wasn’t that poorly so we enjoyed days out together.  Or when I was younger a holiday we took in Dawlish – we travelled from Scotland in an Hillman Imp (borrowed or rented I believe) which was not reliable!  At Dawlish I don’t remember the beach but I have vivid memories of leaving our buckets of rock pool finds outside the hotel and getting up the next morning to find the buckets empty and filling our heads with stories that the big crab had eaten everything else and then run away!

I got onto the beach and immediately kicked off my sandals and walked barefoot.  I know this is something we are cautioned against on the beach these days but I just needed to do it.  Having wandered along the beach aways I did something else I wanted to do on Wednesday but felt too self conscious about – I dumped my bags, rolled up my trousers and paddled … what a wonderful feeling and so many serenity points.

It was clear that it was far too windy to launch the kite so I found a bench and settled to my picnic and some reading.  Boots – I love your salads but please why did you not post a cautionary note on the North African Style Falafel and herb tabbouleh? “not recommended for open air picnics during gale force winds”  (it is not relevant that I was, until this point in time, a falafel virgin).

The problem was the tabbouleh; first of all it was getting blown off the fork at me and then on the floor.  I changed tack and turned my back to the wind and managed to scoop some of it every time but was still losing half a forkful at a time … oh and the labelling was clearly wrong “frisee lettuce” should have read “frisbee lettuce”.  Please do not mistake me – what I managed to eat of this salad was delicious and a healthy option – it is just I left rather a lot behind in the dunes!

I lose some serenity points here; I wasted time wishing to be able to share the funniness of this with weather guru … even though weather guru didn’t forecast for this day … and I couldn’t come up with anyone else to share with because noone else would have seen the funny side in the same way (plus I did not have a direct line to Boot’s Director of Salad Selections!  So this was another day that British Weather increased it’s score.

I enjoyed sitting in the sun, even with the strong wind.  There are public conveniences there – they are basic, they are clean and there is loo paper – but again I cannot help but feel we could do better – on the other hand that might make this lovely quiet beach too popular!

I trundled back on a 73A and bought a beach shelter before heading homeward.  As I travelled I checked the forecast for the next day and it was showing much lighter winds and beautiful sunshine so I decided to try again tomorrow …

Today I:

  • Lost serenity points by making fun of someone;
  • Gained points by providing some information to help our local bus services deal with roadworks over the coming few weeks;
  • Gained serenity by giving my inner child free range to frolic on  the beach (ahem … that is walk barefoot in the sand and paddle sort of frolicking …);
  • Gained serenity by choosing a healthy lunch option;
  • Lost serenity points because I let it bother me that I could not share something; and
  • Became more serene by deciding to give it another go … tomorrow
  • I just needed to remind you of this cheeky gull from earlier in the day – this picture makes me smile … more serenity!
Gull
Today’s Statistics: Cost £0; Miles travelled: 76.2; Steps taken: 7,920
Tags: , ,

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Marking Our Territory

Adventures are better with dogs, dogs are better with adventures

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

