At the beginning …

… is always a good place to start, especially for a journey.

Rainbow painting

Things are happening in my life that are stressful – in the words of the well known “Serenity Prayer” …

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
The courage to change the things I can,
And the wisdom to know the difference.

… well I know I cannot change the stressful things directly – they are caused by other peoples’ decisions; decisions that those other people have the right and choice to make.  Some of those stresses will naturally dissolve away – others will have a significant impact on my future  and in the long term they are probably a positive outcome for me – but getting to the outcome is the stressful bit.

As a consequence of those decisions I am about to embark on possibly the biggest, most important journey of my entire life; I am setting out with optimism and belief in my future.  I have a big group of people offering me support; some of them wanting to board my Ark as soon as I need staff and I am not afraid of hard work.

But first … a smaller journey as therapy to provide me some serenity!

Waves

Every weekday, I catch a Stagecoach bus to work (and another home again!).  There are things about Stagecoach that irritate me and that I think could be done differently for passengers benefit, but the one thing they do absolutely right is their Megarider tickets.  Usually I buy a monthly Megarider and Royal Mail drop it through my letterbox but for the start of this blog I am using weekly tickets costing me £24 for 7 days unlimited travel on Stagecoach buses across three counties.

  • Each day I have set off using the bus I normally catch; this is a deliberate decision to help ground the ‘serenity’ where I will need it – in my normal every day existence;
  • Each day I have a destination in mind but it might change as I journey dependent on advice from my “weather guru” or on happenstance when I get to somewhere and see an alternative journey beckoning;
  • Each day I take my camera (nothing fancy … a digital bridge … but I am making myself use the manual setting so I have to make an effort to capture the pictures I really want; and
  • Each day I take my Megarider ticket and a small amount of money.

Read on for a daily account of my travels and may you find courage to face the stresses in your life and the serenity to deal with those things you cannot change.

About nonehpets

I have an interest in how interior design and adapting a home to support living independently for longer can be complementary. The blog Life Long Design is part of an holistic plan for establishing a social enterprise which will offer the people of Tayside opportunities to explore Telecare and the wider scope of assistive technologies. Enabling individuals to make more informed and responsible choices in the care and support they need in their independent living. I am also keen to see public transport more widely adopted and sustainable rural bus services in particular supported. The Blog Travels with a Megarider shares my journey to find serenity in my life as I make that transition form employment to social entrepreneur. One of my methods in increasing serenity is to travel as many miles as I can on a fixed price bus ticket and explore my own local places of interest. Places that I used to go past and had never stopped to look at; places of peace and tranquility; places where I have had some wonderful conversations with complete strangers. I would like to share with you a response to when I described that one paragraph in an e-mail made it sound simple: "Believe me, Cathy, it does not sound simple. You are taking on an incredible challenge for all the right reasons. It is ambitious and admirable - the sort of project that can change lives, including yours." He is right it is ambitious but when did we every achieve anything by settling for the status quo and ignoring what doesn't work for people? So I would welcome your company from time to time on this journey either simply as a reader or if you are brave enough adding your own thoughts to the comments as you feel moved.

2 responses to “At the beginning …”

  1. chuggathought says :

    Good luck to your endeavor! Some of my favorite words are these…A rough road leads to the stars. Not sure who came up with that quote but I apply it to my life on an everyday basis. Millions of people set out to be successful..but the ones who become successful are the ones who never give up no matter how un-hittable life’s curve-ball seems to be.

  2. windhound says :

    I really like you focusing on the things that you can do rather than on those that are outside your control.You have discovered the way that makes positive changes possible. Struggling against the big things requires a lot of effort and is generally frustrating whereas following the breadcrumb trail of small positive aspects is in itself a delight and brings so many rewards. Through the window of the bus you are raised to a very special height making it possible to see differently from people in cars or on bikes. As a passenger you have your own chauffeur and can focus on what pleases you, a ray of sunshine, a momentary glimpse of a falcon, young lambs,first leaves. I look forward to joining you on your journeys. Per ardua ad astra was the Latin motto adopted by the Royal Airforce in 1912 and has been translated as through hard ways or difficulties to the stars. I don’t think of this as a ‘no pain no gain’ sort of a quote but more like even on the darkest night we can glimpse those stars reflecting the light that brings life and hope.

Leave a Reply

Overstuffed

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Dancing in the Rain

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

... the reason rural bus services are so valuable!

Trapped In My Bookcase

reading my way out, one book at a time

Edinburgh Eye

Equality, cats, and tea.

Home Your Way

interior decor ideas, crafts, and inspiration

Spiritblogger's Blog

Guidance for Living With Purpose and Messages From Spirit

Rich Rogers Photography

Nature is beautiful. Enjoy it, Protect it, Photograph it

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

